Titles in the Mainstream of America Series
Arranged alphabetically by title.


Some Background Information on The Mainstream of America Series

The Mainstream of America Series consisted of twenty volumes all of uniform format published by Doubleday & Company between 1953 and 1966.  Under the editorial leadership of Lewis Gannnett the objective of the series was to provide "the entire sweep of American history - from the earliest days of exploration to the recent decades of turmoil and achievement."  Each volume is presented in a narrative style with the goal of "revolutionizing the reading and enjoyment of history."  The authors selected to write each book were/are established writers and historians producing books which have in some cases received significant critical acclaim.  The following list represents only some of the twenty volumes in the series.

Copyright 2001, Town's End Books, All Rights Reserved.

To order any of these books please use your mouse button to click on the check box next to each book title.   Then tap the ORDER button below and that will start the secure server shopping box system.

  • After you have checked off each book you wish to order (a mouse click in the small check box just above the author's name or book title will do it), please tap the ORDER button below.  You will then be taken to our secure server which will allow you to confirm the items you want and then enter the information to provide us with the details of your name, payment method and where the book(s) should be sent. 

    All books are returnable within 10 days from date of receipt; however, please call us first so that we understand your intentions.  

    Availability is subject to prior sale.